One problem faced by almost every large city if traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Most modern cities have populations of over 1 million or so. All these people commute to and from their workplace which is some distance away from their residence. Thus, across the world, the movement of a lot of people over a short duration of time causes traffic congestion. In the following paragraphs, we shall examine this subject with relevant examples. Firstly, most large cities, or metros, are not planned to accommodate huge movement of people. They expand and contract as per demand. For example, Surat, a small trading town, saw sudden and rapid urbanization after the diamond industry settled there, and hence the public transport system there has remained inadequate. This forces people to use personal vehicles and cause traffic congestion. Secondly, these many metros are fractured into business districts and residential areas in an unplanned way. Thus, on a daily basis, millions of people travel on narrow roads and lanes in a haphazard manner, causing traffic jams. For example, the wholesale grain market of Mumbai is right at the city centre, forcing huge trucks to enter the city and choke the roads. Thirdly, the vehicular management systems of these cities are primitive. In Kolkata, for instance, even today, a traffic cop manages key city junctions and not an automated system based on traffic cameras. In this context, one solution is to create efficient public transport systems, like in London and to encourage people to use them. Another solution is that companies can stagger their working hours and ask their employees to work from home, as much as possible. Some cities, like Stockholm, encourage people to cycle to work instead of using vehicles. Other cities also should take up this example. In conclusion, traffic congestion is caused by the haphazard movement of vehicles over a short period of time, and the best way to deal with it is to encourage people to minimize their travel and to use public transport.