Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities.  Does this situation have more advantages or disadvantages?

Employees tend to work overtime at their workplace because of which they fail to allocate desired time to their extracurricular activities. Although, working long hours have more drawbacks such as poor physical fitness and increased stress, as compared to advantages. This essay will discuss why having a balance between work and life is beneficial for long-term health. However, dedicating time period to the office more than required increases chances for promotion for employees because the norm of this society is that peers who work extra time are more committed to their organization and career as a whole. Another advantage is that they get familiar with the hierarchy of the firm more quickly. For example, according to one survey, it was found that working individuals who attend long sittings tend to learn about the company’s culture more vividly than those who believe in 9 to 5 working conditions. Despite the benefits above, there are more practical drawbacks that people tend to avoid. The main problems that emerge from working late are a weak body and intense depression. Firstly, your body gets out of shapes such as bent back and outward tummy. Moreover, it also becomes unfit because of sitting in an idle position the whole day. Secondly, long working hours lead to increased stress because employees hardly get moments to spend with their families and in leisure activities. Consequently, their mental health gets affected and they become distant from their loved ones, gradually. For instance, it has been found from several studies that humans sitting late in the workstation are generally more stressed out, aggressive and clumsy than those who spend time with their loved ones and in recreational activities. To conclude, workers sitting late in the company have very little time for leisure fun. There are both advantages and demerits of the overtime system like poor physical and mental health that overcome the positive effects of extended working hours.