The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

Compared to the past, the crime rate is dropping because of high-level technology that is able to inhibit and identify criminals. I agree with this statement, as the computer programs present today efficiently monitor criminal actions online. Moreover, public cameras are commonly placed in public places, preventing criminals from acting. Advanced computer programs make it possible to trace and spot criminals as these people communicate frequently with others through social media or through various communication groups. Advanced IT programs can help to hack the internet and get access to closed communication groups where atrocities are being planned. Therefore, people that appear suspicious based on their communication and activities online can be identified and monitored more closely with the aim to detect and prevent potential criminal events. In previous years, criminals communicated by other means than the internet (by physical meetings, by phone, or by posted mails), making it more challenging to trace their actions and contacts. For example, a number of cruel terror events have been prevented because of online tracing of criminals. Moreover, in public areas, camera surveillance hinders potential perpetrators from harmful actions as they know they will be traced and potentially identified. Videos and images from these cameras are stored, thus in an occasion of a criminal event, it is possible to find the record from the day of interest and potentially identify the persons and the actions that were performed, thus making it possible to solve a criminal event. Cameras in public places were not present previously, thus criminals could perform atrocities without being concerned about being captured on a video. For example, after cameras were placed in metro stations in Oslo, the number of robberies reduced significantly. To conclude, the use of advanced computer programs to trace criminals online and the use of public cameras to spot criminal actions have made criminal actions drop compared to the past when this technology was less developed.