Today family members eat fewer meals together. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, families meet around meal tables less and less. The long working hours of parents are one of the reasons for this problem. I believe that this trend has harmful effects on the relations of family members. Family members do not choose to eat separately intentionally most of the time, as opposed to commonly believed. Parents ' long and irregular work hours cause families not to spend time eating meals together. When a parent works a night shift, it becomes impossible to arrange meal hours. For instance, a study showed that 55% of British families could not meet at the dinner table since one of the parents has to work. On the other hand, contemporary teenagers resist quitting what they are doing and participating in their family meals. Since multiplayer computer games or series have hypnotizing effects on young people, it is hard to persuade them to sit with their families. Moreover, when the families insist on spending time together, they raise their shields to cut all communication. To overcome these problems, families have to find new ways to attract them to spend time together around the table. The most crucial result of not meeting for meals is the decrease in family relations. Since meals are the most common time that families spend together, a decline in it results in the weakening of the connection of families. For example, a study between Turkish families showed that families who spend more time than average on meals together have better links between family members than families who spend below average. Parents should spend more effort meeting around tables to know their children better. In conclusion, families should use every opportunity to have strong family ties. The uniting effect of the dinner table should not be underestimated. To end this, the governments can also force employees to arrange working hours for parents to create families with solid relations.