Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Most of the working class group tend to slog for long hours ignoring the necessity of leisure activities required. This essay will further throw some light on the disadvantages outweighing the advantages in the aforesaid situation. Firstly, working for untracked hours will result in missing out on physical activities such as exercising, playing your favourite sport etc. Furthermore, it would lead to missing out on affairs such as pursuing a hobby or interacting with a group of friends. For instance, as per the study conducted by the University of Colombia, it has been found that 40% of people between the age of 25-40 give up on their interests and hobbies due to lack of time. Secondly, leisure activities also involve spending quality time with family and friends. Working overtime causes differences and unsatisfied personal life which ultimately takes a toll on ones’ mental health. This can be illustrated based on the study performed by the Human Welfare Association of USA, approximately 70% of marriages are falling apart in the States commonly due to the lack of time spent by an individual with their loved ones. However, growing competition along with the want to achieve success in career and financial independence workers themselves are promoting prolonged working hours. This creates an overall hostile and negative work culture that will further accelerate acceptance of such practices by other employees thus leading to more stress and discontent in life. To summarize, working overtime due to work pressure and for a better career can lead to financial success but simultaneously it will result in deterioration of relationships and will adversely affect the health. Hence, a sedentary lifestyle will cause both physical and psychological problems.