Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Old architectures, in any cities, are evidence of a compulsory part of its history. It is argued, however, that these buildings should be replaced with new ones, since the demand for accommodations and workplaces are rising more each day. Personally, I believe that the maintenance of historical structures is necessary and should not be demolished in replacement of progress. The exploration of ancient architecture gives people a closer look into different aspects of history and therefore encourages cultural knowledge. It gives us lessons and messages from the people in the past and the past itself, many of them containing unique and significant meanings that are priceless to the modern world. The buildings allow people to understand history, be aware of it and its truth, instead of merely reading about it from the recorded articles. Furthermore, these structures could also be significant to the economy and, specifically, to tourism, of many different countries. Tourism is a flourishing business that provides a great amount of income, and to many cities, these buildings play a crucial role in attracting tourists. Ergo, the preservation and promotion of these ancient architecture from the government. Additionally, modernisation of buildings should not be equal to replacing historical sites. Humanity never stops developing, and they constantly seek advice from the past. They explore the mistakes from those architectures to develop their skyscrapers, comparing residential houses from history to base their modern residential buildings. The historical structures are needed, even in the building of new ones. To sum up, the maintenance of historic construction is essential, as they teach lessons and convey messages from the past to modern society. Not only that, but they benefit their cities and countries economically and in constructions as well.