ANIMAL SPECIES ARE BECOMING EXTINCT DUE TO HUMAN ACTIVITIES ON LAND AND IN SEA. DISCUSS THE REASONS AND SOLUTIONS

Over the years, several animal species have become extinct or are facing the threat of extinction. Usually, a species remains for about 1000 years on this planet before becoming extinct, however, this process ​has accelerated now. There are several deep-rooted reasons forthis, so, let us analyze these in a systematic manner. Firstly is the loss of habitat due to urbanization and deforestation. For example, Flamingoes, Cranes, Kingfishers and Vultures have all beenthreatened because they have lost breeding grounds to buildings and roads. Secondly, manyanimals are mindlessly poached and brutally killed for their fur, for example, minks and crocodiles are freely hunted despite efforts by conservationists. Thirdly,animals are exploited as an expendable source of nutrition. For example, mindless fishing has led to a drastic fall in the numbers of the Hilsa fish, a delicacy in India and Bangladesh. Fourthly, industries and farms discharge toxic waste into water bodies, which kill the flora and fauna and those that survive, become sick and diseased. So, can there be a solution? Most certainly! Atfirst First, we should enact and enforce laws to protect and fosterwildlife. For example, theWildlife the wild life Act in India prevents the export and sale of Indianwildlife. Secondly, we should invest in research to breed endangeredanimals in captivity, and later release them in the wild. The Alligator centre at Chennai is a goodexample of breeding and conserving wildanimals. Thirdly, we should provide alternate means of survival to tribals and poachers who compete with the wildanimals. Andlastly, we should invest in de-polluting oceans, rivers and lakes to save aquaticwildlife. In conclusion, there are multiple reasons for the extinction of wildanimals and we should systematically take steps to save them