Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

There is a fact that many old constructions are under preservation by some governments as they have many historical values these days. There is a common belief that maintaining those buildings is dispensable and a waste of money, inasmuch as they should be diminished and renovated with new infrastructure. From my point of view, I believe that perpetuating old structures is essential, and it would be more unique to see a country that owned modern and historical buildings together. It is argued that ancient constructions bring many values of national history. Those buildings were made by previous generations with more primitive methods than modern society. Taken from that, it is easier to compare and emulate past examples. Moreover, people living in that nation could be able to see how developed humans are nowadays. Moreover, some buildings witnessed many tragic moments. Accordingly, they should be sustained by law. For instance, in the Vietnam war, Phu Quoc Prison, one of the most sadistic prisons in the world where French soldiers interned Vietnamese people and persecuted them. Now it is preserved by the governments as a visit location which attracts a lot of tourists in the world to memorialise the individuals who sacrificed themselves for Vietnamese independence. Many countries are still maintaining ancient structures while improving more modern buildings, making the cities become unique. The combination of old and new constructions has made the view of the city more intriguing and attractive. In light of saving ancient architecture, renovating old parts of the cities also is increasingly enhancing among different countries. Take for example, Moscow, where a progressive way of development combines with cultural aspects and current civilization but subtly demonstrates historic periods of the country. To sum up, although the process of perpetuating old architecture is costly and presenting new buildings brings many changes and effects, I am convinced that preserving cultural structures is significantly important and inherited generations should remain and protect them. In other words, they should not be demolished to build new constructions.