Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

It is the fact that some countries are preserving many buildings which are old but are a part of history. Some people think that it is futile If people waste their money to protect these old buildings. I personally believe that it is important in maintaining the historical buildings or old buildings because it would be unique to see the cities that combined the modern and the past. On the one hand, people believe that maintaining their historical buildings is important since they have historical values. Some buildings are eye-witnesses of important events in each country. For example, in Viet Nam that has been through many wars from free-feudal years to the twentieth century, there are a lot of constructions built by invading country as like Bao Dai villa (building by France) or Con Dao prison (building by American) so we need to keep those works so that the next generation will see the tragedy of war. On the other hand, old buildings will bring value in terms of art and architecture.In the middle of the skyscrapers, there are still ancient architectures that create a special attraction for tourists to come. For example, the ancient town of Hoi An in Quang Ngai province is a place that attracts a large number of tourists when coming to Vietnam. Although the government spends enormous amounts of money every year to preserve many old buildings in Hoi An, It only is a small amount of money that tourism brings. In conclusion, preserving old buildings is important because they are not only a part of history but also provide many economic benefits