Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Old architectural works such as churches, palaces, castles, or houses contribute to the uniqueness of each country. In my opinion, maintaining and preserving these historically significant artifacts does not imply that their aging has a stifling effect on each nation's progress. There are numerous reasons why historical buildings should be preserved. Firstly, these works are the embodiment of the country's history. The remaining relics will have descendants who will know the past of their ancestors and have the most authentic view of the life of previous eras. Without artifacts like this, we would not have historical evidence, all knowledge is based on books and it is difficult for anyone to confirm the reliability of the information is correct or not. The second most important reason is that many historic buildings have undeniable monetary value to a country. Italy is a prime example. The old cities in Italy attract millions of tourists every year, 40 percent of the total national income in Italy comes from the tourism sector. Thus, it can be said that historical monuments determine the cultural value and financial value of each country. However, storing old treasures does not preclude access to the industrialization and modernization processes. First, history and the future always coexist, adding value to each other. For example, we use cutting-edge technology to renovate and repair historic structures so that they retain their original value while serving the needs of the present. Second, neither history nor modernity can exist apart from one another. We know our origins and the contributions of previous generations to the preservation of our country because of history. We will then cultivate a sense of responsibility to contribute to and build a better future. In conclusion, archiving and preserving ancient buildings is very necessary and especially important to human life. We understand our history, we learn the lessons of the past, and we are grateful for the generations that came before us. Since then, we have gathered enough knowledge and awareness to build a rich, strong, industrialized and modernized country.