Digital communication technology, such as email, instant messaging and social media, has improved communication and connection between people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answers and include examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Indeed digital communication technology has revolutionized the way we communicate with each other. The best thing about this technology is the real-time interface and the ability to express ourselves either via text, as in Tweets or audiovisually as in Facebook and WhatsApp. I emphatically agree that digital communication has democratized and improved communication between people. Earlier, to communicate, you had to be literate in the first place. An illiterate person could not write letters or send telegrams. Today, anybody can follow the icon on the screen of a smartphone, and by pressing it, send a voice or visual message across to anybody else. I remember the earlier days when we had to book a trunk call to talk to our distant relatives and wait for months on end to meet our loved ones in person. Hence, meeting a person from afar was a gala event. Thanks to Facebook and WhatsApp, all that has changed. Now, we switch on the video interface, and in a jiffy, we can connect live with our uncle and aunt, nephew and niece and cousins who live miles away. This has instilled a lot of peace of mind for everybody. Social media has several roles today. Not only does it help us to keep in touch with our friends and develop professional connections, but also informs us and motivates us. Many poor parents are thankful for crowd-funding campaigns which raise money for critical surgeries of small kids afflicted with diseases like brain tumours and defective heart valves. Such campaigns succeed due to the immense reach of social media and the internet. However, the advantages of modern communication are sullied by some disadvantages too. one, for example, is the lack of bonding between immediate family members, as each one is busy nursing their online relations. Another unsavoury feature is fake news, where people are incited for violence with manufactured news. Nowadays, the administration is taking steps to counter such nefarious activities. Thus, in conclusion, digital communication platforms have revolutionized the way we interact with each other and by and large, this has been an enriching experience.