A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Over the last decades, a system of values has completely changed. Namely, these days, some well-respected virtues from the past are worthless and others, more materialistic, characteristics started to matter. In this essay I will elaborate why I firmly believe that society today has destorted view of values. The main reason for this is laying in the roots of the internet, more precisely the social media. With a exponential growth of a popularity of the social media, people started relying more and more on their superficial charatersistics, since they are the only ones that we can notice at first sight. Furthermore, society began making a prejudices based on what can be seen from outside. Hence, the deeper virtues, including kindness, trust, politeness and respect lost their meaning. The other reason for this is the way that parents nurture their children. Because, they care so much for them, parents want to prevent their children from getting hurt, oftentimes by encouradging them to turn their emotions down, leading to decreased decrese in empathy and kindness and increase in selfishness. Therefore, at this point old-fashioned virtues are fading away and individuals are starting to put themselves at first place. To sum up, I believe that todays' world is full of narcisstic people, owing to both, internet and parents, which led to extinction of traditional traits. Nevertheless, I honestly believe that society will gradually change its' system of values, hopefully in the near future.