Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Nowadays, many countries are well-known for their architecture which are built decades ago. Governments take them as the prestige of the nation. Many people consider old buildings should be demolished to construct new offices and houses. I believe that history is prominent and should be carried forward to future generations. Ancient buildings are indispensable and should be protected as they signify the culture of the country. Rather, destroying the old buildings, governments should provide land or alternatives for housing. Even today, they are taken as references in the study of architecture and planning which cannot be found in books. Further, foreigners visit these places as tourists. This lead to promoting tourism, creating enormous job opportunities, and increasing the economy of the country. Many people in countries like Italy and Paris rely on tourism. Therefore, the past buildings should be well maintained and repaired if necessary. History is not only just a documentation of the past but also a bundle of knowledge. History is included in the academic curriculum, from which students can learn morals and use them in their lives. For instance, the Taj-mahal in India represents the value of love expressed by Shah Jahan to the current generations. Further, scientists use information from the books of history in their research. Thus, history should get cumulated rather than leaving them. In conclusion, old constructions should remain unchanged and land should be allocated by the government for housing and the development of offices. History would help future generations as the source of information for study and research.