A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Tourism has been proved to be the most powerful tool of generating economic benefit across the various swathes of our planet. However, if it is not regulated in a proper way, there is a likelihood of the emergence of challenges. One of the main detriments of this trend is the environmental damage. However, it has plenty of benefits, including the providing jobs for local citizens and enhancing the level of international collaborations. This essay will prove that positive sides of tourism completely overweigh the negative ones. On the one hand, tourism provides jobs for local communities. Employment is increasing in size because the average foreign attendee does not walk through carrying their own food and sleeping in open fields, they require a particular kind of staff to satisfy these needs. For example, in my homeland (the south of Russia), tourists utilize and require tour buses, hotels, eating places, reliable electrical and water service, and all of the other amenities common in the relatively wealthy countries most tourists come from. As a result, extensive tourism also results in more construction and technical jobs because it stimulates investment in those things. Moreover, it promotes international connections which can bring more business and cultural collaborations in the long term. For example, if Americans pay a visit to France, this will promote French cultural exchange and build many entertainment places suitable for American tastes. Thus, visitors will get more loyal to unfamiliar traditions and lifestyles, getting rid of unconscious bias and stereotypes about other nations. On the other hand, it would be such an ignorant thing to disregard the drawbacks of tourism, such as environmental damage. The thing is that the majority of the tourism activities with or without purpose exploit the natural resources. For example, a tropical golf course in Indonesia requires the tremendously great amount of water that would feed 60,000 local residents plus over 3,000 pounds of chemical pesticides, fertilizers, and herbicides per annum. Hence, it is accompanied with depletion of natural wealth, both global and local. In conclusion, tourism has some detrimental effects on countries and one of the main is ecological disruption. Nevertheless, it provides the solid advantages to the national economies (including employment opportunities and building intercultural bridges), which undoubtedly outweigh the described disadvantage.