The number of overweight children in developed countries is increasing. Some people think this is due to problems such as the growing number of fast food outlets. Others believe that parents are to blame for not looking after their children's health.

For the last 70 years, children's overweight rate has been increasing specially in wealthy countries. Some people believe the reason is the number of fast food outlets, while others do agree that parents are not looking after their kids ' health. As far as I am concerned, parents should be concerning about their children healthy habits even if the junk food options everywhere has increased. This essay is going to discuss my opinion in regards to this matter. On one hand, it is true that the number of fast food restaurant has increased in the past years. We are living in a modern world, where people have profoundly changed their eating habits. This fact leads to kids having easy access to industrialized food since their early years. One illustration of this, it is the research of Ronald Mcdonald’s association comparing the quantity of Happy Meals sold in Brazil, which it was from 500,000 in the year of 1960 to 1.1 million in the year of 2010. Thus, undoubtedly kids are overweight because of the access to these convenient food outlets. Despite of the number of fast- foodfood shops are increasing, organic and natural food are also accessible in groceries shops and local community markets. For this reason, it is a matter of parents taking the time to prepare an appropriate meal for their kids, which is most of the cases the greatest issue in modern life. Therefore, it is a tremendous matter of the way parents support their children habits. In conclusion, contemporary world has been swift the way people consume goods in general as well as children eating habits. Although fast food shops are increasing, I believe the reason why the number of overweight children is increasing is due to their parents ’ deprived management.