Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is undeniable that more and more people are getting into endless pits of debt as they buy items of unimportance and out of their affordability. There are several reasons for this alarming trend and various steps can be taken to mitigate this problem. There are various causes behind this trend. The main reason is the increased convenience of shopping nowadays. It has become much easier to apply for credit cards than it was before as banks and credit card companies are competing with each other to gain more customers. In addition, the prevalence of shopping apps and websites has enabled people to buy things at the tip of their hands without giving much thought and energy. The second reason is the risen power of advertising. As the trends of advertising have shifted towards affiliated adverts by influencers on social media, more and more youngsters and adults are feeling pressured to fit into a specific materialistic lifestyle. For these reasons, people are purchasing useless and expensive items out of convenience and peer pressure. However, lots of measures can be taken to solve this problem. The most effective step would be to spread awareness about the consequences of a materialistic lifestyle. If more people were knowledgeable about how much the environment is damaged by their purchases such as the enormous pile of waste, the pollution caused by the over-production of materials, then they might put in more thought before buying products. The second step that could be taken is to restrict access to credit cards as the absence of money or card to buy things will physically stop people to purchase unnecessary things. In conclusion, while there are various factors contributing to the trend of shopping for inconvenient materials without being able to afford them, a quite handful of actions can be done to prevent this.