Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

With the advancement in transportation technology, the tourism industry is now a prominent source of revenue for most countries. With millions of people crossing the borders to visit other parts of the world, the social norms that the visitors should conform to in the country of destination is subject for debate. While some people believe that visitors should observe the local customs, I believe the host country should be tolerant of the cultural differences. On the one hand, some people believe that visitors should feel responsible to adapt themselves to the rules and the customs of the country that they are visiting.From their point of view, since many norms and customs have a religious root, overlooking them might lead to a conflict. For example, visitors to Islamic countries should be fully aware of the fact that they should refrain from eating or drinking in public areas in Ramadan. Tourists and expatriates who are oblivious to the mentioned rule might offend the local people or even end up in prison. On the other hand, there are those who subscribe to the view that tourists should not be compelled to follow the customs of the destination country. They argue the host country should be willing to embrace cultural differences wholeheartedly. From a cultural perspective, learning the customs and rules of the destination country may be time-consuming and require too much effort. Therefore, many tourists may find it a tedious and futile task, In my personal experience, once locals are exposed to the cultural differences as exhibited by the visitors, differences in behaviour for instance, they gain valuable knowledge of cultures around the world. In this way, locals can also gain insight into the lifestyle and cuisine of the visitors, which can help them cater for their needs more suitably. In conclusion, there are advantages to conforming to the local customs when visiting a foreign country. However, I believe, the host country should welcome the differences and create an atmosphere of comfort for the tourists and lift the burden from the visitors ' shoulders.