The use of violence in music lyrics, video games and films seen by children is causing concern in many societies. What problems may be caused by this type of violent imagery, and what steps could be taken to lessen the impact on young people?

Society nowadays is worrying as children watch audio-visual media, such as music lyrics, video games and films, which comprise assault. We will discuss the most significant issues arising, along with some ways in which the situation can be diminished. To begin, the first issue is the number of crime rates by youngsters would rapidly grow up. It is a well-known knowledge that children are good at following the examples, copying what they see. Therefore, the brutal actions they see while watching movies or playing games are somehow stored in their brain. Another concern is that audio-visual media would influence children to do some kinds of physical violence, such as murder or suicide. They might see that physical violence is a proper way to solve problems. For instance, in an action movie, a superhero character might perform physical actions to fight against their enemies. As a result, the children might think that this action is an appropriate way to beat a bad person. To counteract these dangers, perhaps the most effective and the most immediate remedy is supervision from the parents, meaning the parents should limit the media content to be suitable to be viewed by children. For example, children with age 7 should not watch movies rated 17+, where the movie is only appropriate for people with age starting from 17 years old. Additionally, parents could also limit the time for children to watch or play games to decrease the media exposure, and thus the dangers will be lessened. Finally, mitigating the impact could be done by increasing the awareness of violence to better understand its consequences. This will also trigger children ’s critical thinking skills in being thoughtful when playing games with the action of killing the opponent. In summary, the main issues arising seem the increase of the criminality by young people and the influence in doing dangerous physical actions. The key solution would be guidance and attention from parents.