Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Nowadays, a large number of people have been facing many health problems,especially Diabetes because of the huge consumption of manufactured food and drinks that contained high levels of sugar. Therefore, increasing the price of sugary products would encourage consumers to consume less sugar. Personally, I am opposed to the view that it should be made more expensive. First and foremost, the major drawback regarding the recession in sweetened products is, it can lead to a severe economic downturn in terms of business failure and unemployment. This is because when the price has risen, there will be no demand and purchasing power, meanwhile, the business has produced high quantities of sweets. In other words, there would rather be a loss in sales than profits which can lead to the shut down of business and finally, workers will be unemployed. Furthermore, according to the advancement made in the food industry, there is an alternative way of unsweetened products are manufactured in particular for healthy people. In addition, these products can be sold in a cheaper price while, they can be promoted and persuaded by consumers in the particular market. For example, Coca Cola has introduced their 0 per cent sugar and no calories drinks. It has greatly captured people's attention to purchase those healthier drinks. As a result, Coca Cola has accomplished the viral launch as well as gained benefit in sales without uplifting the selling price. In conclusion, the desire for upsurging prices would be affected significantly on the economy with a higher rate of poverty. Whereas, there were various substitute sugary products that minimize the unhealthy consequences. All in all, it can generate more harm than advantages.