Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, advertising plays an essential role in most businesses. Many people believe that it is considered successful in attracting consumers to purchase things, while others disagree with this idea and reckon as though it is too common that the public is no longer persuaded by it. From my point of view, I am agreed with the first idea where it says promoting is a successful strategy. Both of these views will be discussed in detail in the following paragraphs including my opinion. On the one hand, it is undeniable that some people may find advertising uninteresting as there are advertisements all over the world that sometimes become too much. For instance, when walking in the park, we can already see a bunch of advertisements appearing in different forms such as posters on the trees, some aligned mini billboards along the footpath, and even in smartphones that an advertisement comes out from nowhere and disrupt the music that is playing. These things then become extremely common in the residents’ eyes, making them feel tired of seeing the same boring method of selling every day. Therefore, this strategy become less attractive and finally lost its power in persuading. On the other hand, it is believed that advertisements are still tremendously useful in today’s businesses. I believe that the power of advertising will always impact how citizens purchase objects. In our daily lives, people are commonly seen to be persuaded easily by broadcasts on tv or in some widely used applications to buy unnecessary and expensive products. To illustrate this, I once saw an advertisement on YouTube, which was promoting some new flavours of a zero calory snack. Then, right after I saw the video, I directly ordered all flavours of this snack through an online application without finding any further information. I realized later that I never like eating jelly but I bought them just because they looked delicious and interesting in the video. My experience depicts that this way of promoting is actually successful in the markets. In conclusion, advertising seems to be an ordinary method in attracting customers, which appears to be too common that it is no longer powerful in convincing the public to buy. On the contrary, the use of advertising is extremely widespread in commercials and has gained a large number of customers to consume the products. Hence, I would go with the latter view based on my own experience of being convinced to buy a snack that I never have thought of trying before.