The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost %20 in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this distributing trend.

Over the last ten years, western society has seen close to a%20 rise in the number of kids who are overweight. This essay will discuss both causes and effects in the following paragraphs. To begin with, there are many reasons for being overweight among children. The main reason is eating unhealthy food due to the increase in the number of fast-food restaurants. For instance, in a recent survey published at Harvard University that the fast-food restaurants have seen almost a%40 rise compared to the last ten years. In addition, with the advancement in technology and science, everything has been digitalized and everyone has become computer savvy and more children tend to spend their time on social media and sit in front of a screen for many hours and it has resulted in obesity. The effects of this have been and will continue to be very serious. Firstly, obesity causes many serious diseases such as cancer and stroke. For instance, in a recent article published at Shar Hospital in Iraq%70 of cancer and stroke cases were because of obesity. Secondly, very overweight children often experience bullying by other children, which may affect their mental health. Thus, none of them would have been occurred with eating healthy. To sum up, it's evident that there are several causes among scion, and a variety of negative effects. After a thorough analysis on this subject, I can say that their parents hold the most responsibilities to take care of their kids of what they eat.