Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others considered they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is debatable whether companies should hire creative employees that do their jobs independently or instead hire those amenable to work in teams and who are easily instructed. Although creative independent people are attractive, they may stick to their own ideas and mindset that do not fit in the ethos of the company. Instead, I think it is preferable to employ workers that fit into the team and go on well with the others to maintain peace and tranquillity which makes the work more productive. Hiring independent and creative people may be beneficial for the company in many ways, however, there are downsides associated with this. Oftentimes, such workers may be difficult to work with because they tend to keep their own pace and are reluctant to listen to others. Their mindset may be completely different from the other peers resulting in a hostile working environment. Moreover, these persons may not fit into the ethos of the company leading to conflicts among the workers. For example, a brilliant, educated worker started in a company because he was expected to boost the company ’s productivity. However, the result was an awful working environment, the colleagues became stressed at work and the productivity dropped. Instead of employing people with these characteristics, people that work in teams should be hired. These are able to contribute to a good working environment where people communicate well with others, share ideas, and work together to reach the common goals, resulting in higher productivity which benefits the firm. For example, it is well known that businesses consisting of family members often succeed because the workers know each other well and do their jobs together, making sure to help the business grow. To conclude, although including creative and self-going employees in the workforce has positive aspects, I think it is more important to hire those who work well in teams as that will keep the workers content and make the productivity better than having a hostile working environment.