People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

In this contemporary life, people tend to consume sugar -based beverages. This essay attempts to disclose the causative factors for this phenomenon and suggest possible solutions. A lack of nutrition knowledge and the explosion of the advertising industry are two factors of this negative trend. First and foremost, some consumers may not know how much sugar is in each soft drink and the volume that they absorb daily. In other words, their sugar consumption leads to unhealthy habits. Second, the over-consumption of sugary beverages can stem from the advertising campaign run by beverage brands. Soft drink corporations are likely to use brand ambassadors who can strongly impact the behavioral economics of society. Thereby, consumers are eager to hand over more money for the products that the influencers represent. There are some optimum approaches to curb this unhealthy drinking habit. The first measure may educate the consumers on sugar ingredients in these beverages. The governing bodies shall launch public campaigns that dissuade the consumption of sugar intake. Notably, the authorities may lawfully require soft drink producers to display their drinks' nutritional value comprehensively. Furthermore, the government should implement a strict policy on tax hikes for sugar -heavy beverages. If these drinks were taxed threefold similarly to cigarettes by authorities, consumption would decrease significantly. As a result, few people are willing to consume the heavy sugary products associated with health problems but must have paid the higher prices. In conclusion, I believe that a lack of information and commercial advertising campaigns has led to the control of consuming sugar -based products. In case policymakers worldwide seriously impose higher taxes, the abovementioned matter can be addressed.