People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

It is true that the consumption of sugar-based beverages is constantly increasing. Although the needs of consumers and the easy accessibility to this one could be reasons, there are some remedies that work effectively by enacting some policies and introducing programs of the governments to drop the amount of sugar-based drinks consumed. The prime characteristic of sugary drinks leads to the requirement of consumption more. Almost all kinds of sugar-based drinks are loaded with sugar giving consumers an instant energy boost, this leads to people working in a state of excitement. Although, the energizing effect ends quickly, and the consumer will feel run down and want to drink more. In addition, by the affordable price and the convenience, the producers make their products of sugary drinks accessible to customers. For instance, sugar-based drinks like cola are widely produced and sold at a good price applied everywhere such as in supermarkets, restaurants, even street vending machines, so people will not hesitate to pay a small amount of money to get one. Regardless of the reasons, the overconsumptionconsumption the sugary drinks can be tackled through educating and enacting economic policies. Firstly, the governments can produce health campaigns to heighten the citizens’ awareness. Lessons of healthy lifestyle added in primary educational systems help children to understand the consequence if they drink fluently, or series of TV programs with slogans have a good effect to remind adults to limit their drinking. Secondly, imposing a heavy tax on this beverage is also a good way to reduce the desire to buy. Because this lead to higher costs for each unit, customers tend to compare with the initial price and feel like the larger volume is bought, the heavier monetary disadvantage they take. In conclusion, I believe that the increase in the drinking of sugar-based drinks is mainly from the effect on consumers along with its accessibility. However, governments can reduce this trend by tax and education.