Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages?

In today's world, foods in small stores or supermarkets have chemicals to improve production and ensure it lasts for longer.In my point of view, the potential dangers from this are greater than the benefits. To begin with the advantages, there are several reasons why chemicals are placed in food. Firstly, it is to increase the products and it can be so beneficial for the businessmen. Which has resulted in an improve in their businesses. For example, A recent survey in BBC News published that the rate of food production in 2020 has seen almost a%40 rise due to the chemical products. Another reason is to conserve the products and stay for a longer time. Because much of the food that we eat would not actually last that long if it is not contained chemicals. However, the main disadvantage of such additives is to destroy most of the useful nutrition such as vitamins, calcium, protein and so on. These are so beneficial to our body to work effectively. The lack of such nutrients leads to many serious diseases such as cancer and stroke. For instance, in a survey at Shar hospital in Erbil released the number of cancer cases has seen close to a%20 rise compared to the last 2 years due to an increase in using additives in our meals. Thus, the use of chemicals in food causes many pressing issues. To sum up, although there are some benefits to placing additives in foods. There are also negative effects which are really dangerous for human health. After a thorough analysis on this subject, In my opinion, the governments hold the most responsibilities to control this problem.