Nowadays many jobs are more stressful, and the working day is longer. What are the reasons for this? What can employers do to help employees?

In today’s fast-paced world, working on a job could be highly challenging. Most jobs in recent years demand longer working hours and are causing severe stress and anxiety among working class. There are several causes for this, and companies should take positive steps in providing a suitable environment. One of the major reasons for long working hours is the fear of losing employment due to the oversupply of the workforce. If companies are not satisfied with the performance, there is always a risk of replacing employees with low-paying talented individuals in no time. For instance, people working in the modern world are expected to continuously update their skills and learn the latest technologies if they want to stay relevant to changing trends. Hence most people always try to put in more effort at work to prove their worth to attain quicker promotion and salary hikes. Another reason for work -related stress is the competitive business environment. Growing competition in the market is causing employers to provide low-cost services or sell low-priced products without compromising the quality. This is possible only when they are able to put that pressure on their staff to perform better and maximize their utilization. For instance, project managers for instance promise to complete a particular project within a month even though it might take longer, forcing team members to put in additional hours. This could be stressful to working people as they can hardly spend their valuable time with family in order to achieve unreasonable targets. Employers should be responsible enough to provide an ideal work environment to their employees. Companies could include awareness programs to educate employees on the importance of maintaining a work -life balance and leading a healthy lifestyle. They should include policies where individuals should be allowed to work overtime only when it is absolutely necessary. The employers could also provide gym facilities where people can exercise and stay fit. In conclusion, jobs in recent years are becoming increasingly stressful and employees need to spend extended hours at work mainly due to fierce competition in the market and due to fear of losing jobs. Companies could contribute to relieving the anxiety and stress of employees by encouraging them to balance their work and life.