Some believe that the Olympic games help bring people from different nations together, while others claim that holding the Olympics wastes money which could be used for important issues. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

The Olympic games are held every four years where people around the world are able to participate. Nevertheless, some people might argue that these events are of no importance and the money invested in hosting these activities could be used for other alarming issues. In my opinion, the Olympic games are quite expensive to prepare for but are beneficial for the country organising them. The main reason for holding the Olympic tournaments is to attract visitors and players from all around the world. This benefits the country because its financial status will increase. For instance, the government makes more profits while selling tickets for the tournaments worldwide. This will be boosting up the economical status of the country on a larger scale compared to the amount of money that has been spent on the preparations. Hence, the population will enjoy a high living standard. Some people, on the other hand, believe that these events are very costly to afford. They prefer to use their money effectively and efficiently. For example, in under-developing countries where people have to struggle for a living might find it irresponsible if the government invest in these games rather than providing them with a better quality of life. More concerning issues such as poverty or malnutrition could have been alleviated if the money is injected into the economy and helping out the poor. In conclusion, Olympics games do benefit a country that has the means of hosting them. I believed that this has a positive impact on the tourism industry. However, the government should not solely rely on these events to maintain a good living standard.