Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Recently, the debate on whether university students should study whatever they like has been heated. As far as I am concerned, focusing on students ' interest in the university should be better for the future development of society. This essay will discuss both sides and elaborate on my view. To begin with, allowing students to study what they like can encourage them to have more in-depth research. For example, areas like medical biology require a lot of specific knowledge. If students are interested in these areas, they will be willing to memorise those terminologies and think deeper. In contrast, students who are not attracted by these areas may feel reluctant to understand those concepts irrespective of the future they may bring. Therefore, students should be encouraged to be keen on their interests in order to make greater contributions to society. Besides, it is hard to judge which subject is beneficial for each student due to the differences in their personalities. As each person has their own talents, it seems impossible to use the same standard to judge the value of the subjects. For instance, we can see someone flourish in the area of medicine while some others are talented in painting. If students are barred from studying any subjects because of the general expectation, their talents may not be discovered and the world will then be monotonous. In conclusion, since the future trend is not predictable and the abilities for each one is unique, encouraging students to study what they are interested in may be better for the future development of society. It is expected that students can have more in-depth research in certain areas and the diversity in the society can be enhanced.