A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at companies or organisation as part of their programme. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement?

It is undeniable that working with companies and organisations adds up a lot in the skills of the student. However working without getting paid actually leads to some demerits as well. This essay will delve into the merits and demerits of students working with organisations as a part of course requirement. A fundamental advantage for the students can be that they will be having experience of working with professionals. That gets the ball in student's court v when he goes for having an actual job in the competitive environment. In addition it would prepare them for future about how to handle work pressure when you are committed to fulfill an organisational goal. Furthermore, working in an actual organisation beings up a sense of work discipline in every person which is a positive trait in all aspects. There are some demerits for working as an unpaid intern. This fact Cannot be ignored, that everyone look for their share of return whenever they contribute in an achievement. So is the scenario here, students would expect some return for the hardwork done by them. However being an unpaid intern student will not be paid, taht can bring down the moral of the individual. And this fact cannot be ignored that students will have to maintain a balance between their actual studies and the work. Imbalance in these can affect the grades thus influencing the academic result. Another thing that add on to the demerits is, students can find it difficult to adjust with the senior working professionals and this thing sometimes leads to spoilage of the work environment in the organisation and student being blamed for the same make him question his own abilities. To sum up, there are both the sides available the bright and the dark when Talking about unpaid internship. It depends on the student with which he wants to go further.