Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Several health issues are caused by manufactured food and drink that contain high levels of sugar. Some believe that their prices should be increased to persuade people to lower their consumption of sugar. In my opinion, instead of raising the prices, other measures should be introduced to help cope with the problem. First, tax should play an important role to help deal with the health problem of overconsuming sugar. For instance, in Thailand, the government requires each manufacturer to pay taxes according to the level of sugar in their products, the more sugar, the higher tax, and vice versa. As a result, each manufacturer needs to reduce their sugar level in order to pay less tax and keep their price stable and competitive in the market. Another solution is to encourage people to do more physical activities. For example, parks, gyms, playgrounds and other sports facilities should be provided by government or local authorities and people should be able to access them without charges. In contrast, nowadays, most people spend their weekends going to shopping malls because not enough public spaces are available. This finally results in people gaining weight because the majority of people spend less time exercising. In conclusion, in my opinion, people should not be responsible for higher prices of sugary products, instead, the government should introduce a more effective measure to lessen the sugar level of products by using tax, while at the same time, providing more public spaces such as parks and gyms that people can use for exercising.