Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Nowadays there are many visitors who travel in areas with extremelly dangerous conditions like the Everest mountain or Alpes. To begin with, I am of the belief that this tendency has a definite advantage of exploring remoting regions. Also, it is an activity that gives the opportunity to people to broaden their horizons and reach their limits. In my personal experience, when I hiked on Olympus mountain 3 years ago, I reached and discovered areas that few folks would ever see in their lives. Apart from that, what I learned from this adventure is that when you push yourself you can understand your physical and emotional strength. For example, I would never know that I could live with just a few food and water as well as under extreme circumstances. This, make me appreciate my everyday life. On the other hand, because of the conditions which prevail in these remote,places there are also many travellers who lose their life or get injured. A clear illustration of this, could be said to be that recent research from proponent professors in Greece, has shown that 10% of people who climb on Olympus mountain die every year. So, I would say that, if someone wants to hike or visit such as remoted areas, should be well enough prepared and informed about the paths, dangers and conditions. To sum up, I believe that in reality, the advantages and disadvantages resemble two sides of one coin, which usually runs parallel. On one hand, we as a community can not forbid this kind of tourism and the dangers can only be eliminated by the concerted effort of tourists.