Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of the nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? should history stand in the way of process?

There are some individuals who would argue that some buildings, has some value that should not be denigrated and we should keep them safe as a part of our heritage. Still, there are others who claim that new ones should be substituted them. To begin with, I am of the belief that as I mentioned before,the majority of these buildings are part of our country`s heritage and we should ensure to keep them as they are. Also, some of them attract many tourists and this trend has benefits to our economy. For instance, in my hometown Serres, there is an old building which a century ago was operating as a library. Now, it is just a landmark of our town, and many travellers and local citizens visit it every day. This is conducive to our city`s economy and yields many work positions to the local people. On the other hand, this has also a predominant effect. Some of these buildings are useless and just waste precious space as well as land. A clear illustration of this could be said to be, that in Athens there are many old buildings with no usage. If local ministries would replaced them with new modern blocks of flats and offices, it would be mutually beneficial both for its citizens and businesses, because rent prices would be reduced significantly and many companies would operate in many areas of the city instead of only in the city centre. To sum up, in reality, the advantages and disadvantages resemble two sides of one coin, which usually runs parallel. I believe that every local community should act in a different way in order to combat this problem and find its own solution.