Eating too much sugar is harmful for our health. Some people think it is government responsibility to limit people's sugar consumption, while others think it is an individual's responsibility to limit the amount of suger they eat. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an agreement that consuming too much sugar might cause health issues. Many would argue that governments should step up and start to control the amount of sweet products in people's diets. On the other side of the argument is the opinion, that it is individual's responsibility. This essay will present an overview of the both views and provide my own vision. Firstly, government might help in fighting increasing sugar consumption, as they have the resources to educate citizens and add regulations to the food market. In addition, there are softer ways that could be used, such as educational programs, events to promote a healthy lifestyle, creating a law to mark products with correct list of nutritions or adding a mandatory warning about the amount of sugar to the packaging. On the other hand, individuals could understand and know their needs better. Also, healthy diet, in general, is a choice, and nobody can force a person to follow a diet. As a result, government's pressure could face some kind of rebellion and people would hate new forced rules. In my opinion, there is no need to add any strict regulations to sweet food consumption, as it is a personal choice. I would say, that adding labels which will indicate how healthy the product is could be a great first step. As an example, the European Union already has a similar system, where each product has a "healthy rating" from A to D to show the consumer how this product can affect their health. In conclusion, government and individuals should participate in solving the sugar consumption epidemic together. There is no need for drastic changes, new taxes, and radical actions, but both groups can make some small steps towards common better health.