Compared to the past, more people are now studying abroad because it is more convenient and cheaper than before. Do you think this is beneficial to the students' home country? Will this trend change much in the future.

In recent time, there have been massive exodus of students to outside countries in search of educational knowledge and specialised skill acquisition due to the relative flexibility and cost effective programs offered oversees. This has brought alot lot of negative impact to the homeland and such trend if not discouraged will escalate in the near future. There is no denying the importance of comprehensive education and training in ones carrier brought about through exchange of ideas and information from different specialized field around the world. However such trend which tends to favour the migration of intellects to foreign countries in search of learning can result in brain drain which will affect the home country negatively. for example alot of tertiary institutions in developing nations do not have standardized learning facilities for some professional degrees including, medicine, pharmacy and nursing. As such most students who eventually travel abroad often times do not return home after securing good jobs leading to deficit of human resources. In addition to this, even though it has become relatively cheaper, studying in a foreign land is still quite expensive especially by student from third world countries. Parents who are able to achieve this for their children invest huge amount of money yearly for tuition fees and other levies thereby reducing the standard of living of such family. This pattern is viewed to continue in future as the gulf between the rich and poor countries continues to widen. The level of opportunities available in the established nations create room for luring ambitious people from other inferior countries who actually invest into their society and create more deficit to their home nations. In conclusion, studying abroad has caused massive brain drain and reduced quality of life to struggling nations which is perceived to progress in future due to a large gap in development.