Nowadays people make new friends through social networks and internet chat groups. Some people think this is good. Other think that face-to-face interaction is essential. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Making new friends through social media and online chat groups became very popular in citizens’ everyday lives. Although there are some advantages of online dating websites, I would argue that it is better to face to face communications. There are some good arguments for making friends online. You can meet so many new people online that you can choose who you really like and whom you would like to get in touch with. In addition, Talking with new friends via social networks or chatrooms also costs so little time, which instead would be required for travelling and socialization. This makes it suit modern lifestyles which people are usually confined in their workplace more. Therefore, people will have more opportunities to find new friendships. Despite the above arguments, I believe that physical interaction in establishing a new relationship can be more truthful than other forms of communication. To be able to trust someone as a friend, a certain amount of information is required. For instance, there are many parts of body language that cannot be detected from online conversations such as eye contact, gesture, and facial expression. Furthermore, because of the presence of these additional social cues, meeting in person makes deception or hiding true intention more difficult. As a result, people can trust the others whom they meet in the real world than whom they could not see each other. In conclusion, it seems to me that a truthful relationship that can be gained from real-world socialization is more beneficial than making friends offline.