Art is considered an essential part of cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think that is? What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

Although art plays a crucial role in showcasing the cultural aspect of any country, people in today's world are paying more attention to the fields of science, technology and business. In this essay, I will discuss the possible reasons for this shift and explain how government can help in making art interesting for individuals. In my opinion, most of them do not give much preference to art -related fields for two main reasons. Firstly, they feel that art does not contribute to the well-being of society. The development of science, technology and business may create employment and educational opportunities that could be crucial in uplifting society and providing people with a chance to succeed in life. Arts, on the other hand, may not be able to solve any crucial social or economical problems such as healthcare and education that most countries today face. Another reason for art taking a backseat in most lives is due to a hectic work schedule. Hardly does one find enough time to focus on their creative side in today's fast-paced life. Instead of nurturing their talent and making a living out of it, most of them prefer to explore and build their stable career in the science and technology domain which is known to be a definite path to generate higher income in the past several decades. A talented artist, for instance, usually struggles for years in order to earn well-deserved appreciation, fame or money which sometimes is also heavily dependent on luck. Most individuals want to avoid taking these risks in their life and therefore, are paying less attention to artistic fields. It is imperative for the government to take concrete steps that could draw more talent into the field of art. One of the most effective ways is to provide funds and opportunities to the youngsters who possess the artistic ability. Knowing that their artworks can generate a stable income and recognition, more talented individuals will be drawn into this career path. In addition, the government could enforce extracurricular activities such as painting, dance, drama to be mandatorily included in every school curriculum. By doing so, students will be able to recognise their interests at a very tender age and could provide a good foundation for developing their interests. In conclusion, the field of art is slowly diminishing as most people are more interested in other fields because of its lack of contribution towards the improvement of society and comparatively less lucrative career opportunities. As artworks could be significant in representing the culture and traditions, governing authorities could focus on drawing more people to this field by providing funds and taking necessary steps to include related subjects for school students.