Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Languages are among the paramount inventions of humanity which made a milestone in the development of human civilization. By using it, humankind became able to transfer their feelings, problems, ideas and thoughts. People’s opinions differ as to whether it is necessary for the authorities to preserve minority languages from extinction by assigning public monetary budgets. While there are strong arguments against this sentiment, I strongly advocate the ones who agree with it. There are several reasons why some people opine that public money should not be spent on keeping ancient languages alive. There is mounting evidence that in the future, the number of languages will decrease due to high rates of immigration and a mixture of ethnicities as once called by Marshall McLuhan “The global village”. So it is a natural selection among the languages to either vanish or merge into other ones or persist. For example, the American Indian language went to extinction a few years ago by the death of the last man who completely understood it. In contrast to the above arguments, I strictly opt for the people who believe that all precious ancient languages should be saved by spending money from the national reserve. In my opinion, behind every single language lies a world of history, culture, tradition and heritage, albeit not spoken by many people. Keeping these valuable assets is the key to knowing about our roots, history and the path our ancestors passed to alter us into what we are today. Furthermore, diversity is absolute of the essence for mankind to develop in the future, and keeping such heritages is a solution to guarantee the diversity of races and cultures. To sum up, although governmental investments in saving the minority languages may bring about some hassles, I think their merits outweigh them by far. Governments should consider the fact that they are in charge of keeping the heritage behind languages by spending reasonable amounts of money.