It is often argued that spending money on the protection of wild animals is pointless since we humans do not need them. Personally, I do not completely support this point of view.

In my opinion, arguing as to whether there is no place for wild animals in the 21st century is absurd. I do not agree that the Earth is created only for the benefit of humans, and there is no particular century that means that we have the right to permit or encourage the extinction of any species. Furthermore, we do not have any compelling reasons why animals should be died out. There is no need to destroy or take advantage of every single part of the land in order for the world’s population to feed or accommodate. Existing side by side with wild animals should be our aim because of the fact that there is plenty of space for us. I also do not believe that protecting animals is a waste of resources. It is undoubtedly that the protection of natural habitats that ensures the survival of wild animals, and these habitats are also crucial for human survival according to most scientists. To take rainforests as an example, they produce oxygen, absorb carbon dioxide and stabilize the Earth’s climate. If we humans destroyed these areas, the costs of managing the resulting changes to our planet would be more likely to be outweighed by the costs of conservation. By protecting wild animals and their habitats, we can maintain the natural balance of all life on the surface of the Earth. In conclusion, humans have no right to make a decision as to whether wild animals should exist or not, and I believe that we ought to do everything we can to preserve them.