The money spent by governments on space programs would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Each year, a large chunk of the public funding is allocated to the research and development of Space Programs. Some argue that if the same funding can be put to better use in other public sectors such as education and healthcare. I agree to this argument to a large extent. While I think Space Research is crucial, it doesn't necessarily impact the daily lives of the general population. Moreover, the Covid-19 pandemic has proven that the current healthcare and education systems are not well-equipped to handle a pandemic of this size and magnitude. For instance, hospitals did not have enough beds to cater to the number of Covid patients and schools were not exactly sure how they'd conduct classes remotely. Firstly, quality Education is crucial for the talent development of future generations. Investing in infrastructure, curriculum development and quality faculty will generate a much larger payoff. In addition, investing in healthcare, research in particular can keep us ahead of the curve and ensure great services for the citizens and residents. To Summarise, while space programs are important in nature, I don't believe it supersedes the need for quality education and health facilities.