Today family members do not eat meals together. Why does this happen? Is this a positive or negative development Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Family meals together is a time of special bonding. In recent times, bloodlines no longer share meals at the same table. The reasons for this development are not far-fetched. I strongly believe that this is a negative occurrence and will state my reasons in subsequent paragraphs. To start with, one major reason why family members no longer eat meals together is due to their work schedules. To put it simply, some persons in the family might have different professions for which they are gainfully employed, and time schedules of work durations tend to be different. Consequently, they feed at different times and at their convenience. For example, a young doctor living in a family apartment will usually find it difficult to eat lunch with his siblings due to his work schedule. Therefore, relations rarely share meals together currently. Another reason for this development is the presence of differing choices for a particular meal. Most times, it is not what is prepared that everybody in the nuclear unit eats. This can be due to some related health situation or a dislike for certain types of feed. As a result, such people will eat at different times from others. For instance, if the general dish prepared was rice, and a particular child does not like rice, this will affect eating together. Hence, it is becoming difficult to eat together nowadays. In conclusion, I believe that this incident is a negative one because it affects the family bonding and unity and should be corrected by having jobs with more leisure time, and adjusting to a general family menu.