To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

In an era of overpopulation, the question of an impending shortage of food is looming over the heads of people. Therefore, the introduction of insect based products to our daily diets presents itself as a sustainable solution to a critical issue. However, not everyone is convinced in regards to this exotic addition to their everyday meals. There still remains this pre conceived notion in certain societies, cultures and religions that insects are unhealthy, unhygienic and may lead to being infected by a disease or parasite. Such ideologies lead to either immense distaste or a complete ban on this type of food. In continuation, environmentalists also may argue that an addition of edible insects to our diet can negatively affect the ecosystem. The reasoning behind this thought process is that people might start over killing insects that resulting in their extinction in the long run. On the other hand, one must argue that the amount of benefits achieved from consuming insects cannot be ignored. Scientifically speaking, they contain a high amount of protein along with essential vitamins and minerals that comply with the daily health guidelines issued by WHO. Not only that, but they are also very cost minimal as are found everywhere hence can easily be purchased by people of al financial backgrounds with ease. However, as mentioned above, there are still doubts and uncertainties attached to this specific food item which may threaten religious or cultural ideologies. Therefore, it is best to slowly introduce this to supermarkets slowly so that people may get accustomed to the idea of it and those willing to try it, do so due to their own curiosity.