Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to GM crops to increase the production of food grains. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this approach.

These days we are experiencing an accelerated increase in the number of individuals in developing countries. For some people, a solution for this, is the incorporation of GM crops for the production of food grains. Despite the advantages that this approach will bring, I believe it has more disadvantages, as this essay will discuss. The overpopulation we can see nowadays has made it impossible for the government to fulfil the food requirements in poor nations. An evident benefit of newer approaches, is that there will be a faster production of food grains. As a result of this, governments can achieve more food in a less period of time and would be able to fulfil the needs of the people. On the other hand, the use of GM crops is controversial, as some people think is not healthy enough and will have serious consequences. First of all, GM crops have some concerns because they have been related to the development of cancer. This fact is evidenced by the increased number of cancer in people that consume this food. In addition to that, it is an expensive for the production of food and will requiere more technology. There is no doubt that developing nations don't have enought money to afford this. In conclusion, although the implementation of GM crops may help to enforce the manufacturation of grains, actually it is a technique which is not safe enough. The disadvantages that it brings such as the development of serious health problems make it an unsafe method. I believe that governments must reinforce birth control measures instead of new food production techniques.