Some people believe that it is the government’s responsibility to provide care and finance to support people after they retire. Others, however, think that individuals themselves should save money in their own when they are old. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The opinion is divided as to whether it is the role of the authorities or individuals to look after themselves at old age. While some persons argue that government have to cater for the needs of its citizens, others believe that the public should plan their retirement. This essay will discuss both views in detail followed by a reasoned conclusion. One of the reasons why people demand support from those in power at old age can be seen as a fundamental human right. Therefore every leader in every society has the duty to provide aid for the aged and dependent. For example, the military and civil servants gave their all during years of active service to the good of the country and it is morally justified for politicians to reciprocate by aiding the elderly. To further illustrate, some old people have challenging ailments which can only be overcome through free health care services by the government. For instance, via National Health Insurance Scheme, Nigerians are now able to seek quality health care which has improved the average life expectancy in the last decade. Even though authorities are playing a key role, individuals need to support themselves too. Firstly, being able to save for the future reduces the national burden. This is because more money is then diverted to other lacking sectors of the economy including good roads and electricity. For example, a recent study has shown that the amount incurred by African countries in delivering free medical backing to their citizens is over 30% of the national budget leading to scarcity of funds in other sectors. Hence gross underdeveloped was achieved. Lastly, it is important for humans to save in other to support their children too. Thus helping in the long run at securing a bright future for them as they are able to afford decent school and training thereby impacting society positively. In conclusion, although controversy still exists on whether the government or public should cater for their old age, however I am of the opinion that both have a concerted effort at achieving optimal care after retirement.