Some people think that teachers should be responsible for teaching students to judge what is right and what is wrong, so that they can behave. Others say that teachers should only teach students academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is often debated whether teachers in schools should be held responsible for teaching students right from wrong. School is considered a child's second home. Moreover, given the amount of time children spend at school, they are heavily influenced by the ideologies taught during their time there. Hence teachers are in a better position to help students understand and distinguish right from wrong and shape their behaviour as individuals. Especially when a child has working parents, it is difficult to establish a single role model. A teacher can help such pupils make morally valuable decisions in life. For instance, many schools have started to teach a special subject on Moral Science which focuses on real-life situations and ethical dilemmas surrounding them. On the other hand, the definition of a school is an institution for knowledge and many people believe that behavioural management does not necessarily constitute "knowledge". Such characteristics are part of a person's upbringing and the parents are solely responsible. For instance; one such public school teacher made a remark saying that " Teachers are not babysitters".Proponents of this opinion also say that blindly following a teacher's advice can result in loss of individuality and the ability to make one's own decisions. In my opinion, students spend a bulk of their time with their teachers from a very early age and are bound to look for guidance from the teachers. Hence they are indeed the caretakers and are thus responsible for shaping behaviours.