Nowadays, people are busy with work and do not have time to spend with family and friends. Why? What are the effects on families and society as a whole?

In this highly competitive society, people tend to spend most of their time at the workplace. People often do not have time for their family and social lives due to various aspects. Although finance is crucial for individuals, paying too much attention may lead to negative outcomes. To begin with, in the globalisation world, with the pressure of paying a variety of bills, people tend to work harder to cover their living expenses and give their family a stable life. In addition, due to the intensive competition at the workplaces, workers have to do overtime to be promoted efficiently and get a higher salary. For example, in the family, it is hard for a single-earner to run a family with a single job or regular working hours, so they are forced to work more. However, working non-stop has led to a significant impact on family and society. Unfortunately, having less interaction between the family members creates a communication gap, causing misunderstanding leading to marriage break-up. For example, when the children lack parental care, they become spontaneous and impulsive, affecting their growth and becoming lured into crime. In addition, when parents have missed their quality family time, they would not see how their children are growing, and their parents are getting older day by day. Thus, people should be considered to have a work-family balance to not miss any events in their lives. In conclusion, the increase of working has undoubtedly affected people's social and family life. Although being wealthy is essential, people should have leisure and quality time for their relations.