Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

With a development of high technologies and quality of internet more and more people begin to work independently in different types of jobs. For example, a few decades ago engineers were able to work in the office or on field only in the company, because of the strongphysical connection to the construction or design process. Although today we can easily imagine that employee can be involved in any type ofengineering work by means of the internet and new devices, like 3D-modelling software and powerful laptop. Therefore, employee can easily befree to work with a final customer directly or as a subcontractor in any place of the world. I’m sure that modern means are giving more opportunities to work as a self- employed. It gives a freedom for choosing direction of business development and opportunity to earn more money without any limits. On the other hand, this type of occupation may have a few negative points. One of them is a big risk of unemployment that can happen because of the economic crisis, unavailability to pay from customer’s side (bankrupt), reducing economical value of the service that you offer,unprofitability. Another disadvantage is a difficulty to have a vacation time, especially for people who recently started the business. It is hard to set the limit of your working time when you are self-employed, because usually when you work more period, more money you can earn. Sometimes this approach in a long term can cause mental diseases. In conclusion, I want to remind such well-known phrase: “If you don’t risk, you are not drinking champagne”. Although, that risk should have a reason. All business should have a strategy and if you don’t, better to work for a company, it can save health and money for treatment.