In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

In the present era, hidden cameras are acting as a ' third eye'. most of the time people at work are regularly monitored without their knowledge. This concept has a plethora of benefits and a few drawbacks too. This essay will elaborate on the same in the upcoming paragraphs. One prominent advantage of safety cameras is that it nullifies theft activities. In other words, when people try to cheat by stealing goods from the working environment or shops, the camera catches vivid images of such thieves and that helps police tremendously. Resultantly, the effective surveillance system supports a crime-free environment in society. For instance, a jewellery shop owner in my neighbourhood recently fixed video cameras in his shop. He commented that the theft activities now decreased to the great extent than before. Another benefit of a security camera is that the discipline and punctuality among staff can be improved. Most of the employers suffer from notorious lazy workers, who neither come on time nor do their jobs attentively. When employees are monitored through cameras, they are bound to work with attention. Moreover, the recorded time of arrival and departure helps the owner to penalize the indisciplined staff. For example, the manager of an ice factory in my town stated in his blog that workers achieved 100% punctuality when he installed camcorders in his industry. In some work environments like beauty parlours and changing rooms in the shopping malls, cameras are proved disadvantageous because people could misuse personal activities for blackmailing. However, careful and alert behaviour of the customers while visiting such places could avoid the issue of getting blackmailed. To exemplify, my cousin Karan identified the hidden camera in the changing room of a clothing showroom, he then called the police and the boutique owner got arrested. In conclusion, although there are a few disadvantages of monitoring systems such as phone tracking and video cameras, in my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages as cameras improve the industry environment and make society theft free.