The spread of urban areas has led to deforestation and has caused many animal species to become endangered. Environmental groups are urging governments to protect these animals. What are the benefits of protecting animals? What can governments do to protect animals?

Large areas of forests have to be chopped down in order to make room for expanding metropolitan regions. This has led to many wildlife species becoming close to extinction. In this essay, I will mention how protecting animals can prove to be an asset and the necessary measures that the government can take for their protection. There are certain advantages of protecting endangered wildlife. To begin with, many ecologists claim that the survival of all types of organisms is integral in maintaining the food chain and eventually, the harmony of the ecosystem. Furthermore, their survival adds more aesthetic value to flora and fauna, boosts tourism for a country, and in many cases, some species become the national symbol of a nation thus, adding something to their international image. For example, a tiger is regarded as the national animal of India and its survival plays an integral role in being a famous tourist attraction for this country. Therefore, taking the above benefits into consideration, it is crucial for the government to take the necessary part to protect these animals. Firstly,it is imperial to take steps to bring urbanisation under control and this can be done by investing in the development of rural areas, which will in turn directly bring down the number of people going to cities. In addition to this, stricter laws need to be drawn up against pleasure hunting, and placing a blanket ban on animal fur will further reduce poaching. Other than that, creating safer wildlife sanctuaries will provide a safe haven for these creatures. In conclusion, there are numerous advantages of saving endangered animals including a harmonious ecosystem and if the government is able to reform the laws for their protection, saving these creatures will become more achievable.