Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Pollution of water bodies, such as rivers, lakes and oceans is a significant worry for environmentally concerned people. Water pollution is basically caused by dumping garbage on coastlines and spillage of oil from transportation tanks. It, therefore, is negatively affecting aquatic animals and local communities who are dependent on water reservoirs. Dumping filth and rubbish on beaches and oil leakage from tanks, which are transported overseas by marine water, are important causes of water pollution. People either deliberately or unintentionally dispose off their trash on sea shores everywhere in the world. This waste eventually enters in sea where it causes damage to marine environment. Secondly, as water has been a medium for transportation of goods for centuries, oil is still transported globally by oceans. Accidents often damage oil tanks or ships which results in the spillage of huge quantity of oil in water. Water pollution has considerable effects on marine life and human society. Fish and other aquatic animals die due to pollution of water bodies. Coral reefs are destroying at an exponential rate which absorb plenty of carbon dioxide from oceans and improve quality of water. As a consequence, humans are suffering from shortage of sea food because fish, prawns and crabs are dying. Moreover, bleaching of coral reefs, increase risks of flooding, hurricanes and cyclones. In conclusion, pollution of water is mainly caused by the human activities and it is highly damaging not only for marine animals but also for human society as it is risking the living of all living beings.