Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning a foreign language is mushrooming in a world that is increasingly getting globalized and being able to speak more than the mother tongue is the greatest skill to ever exist. Some claim that learning a language is only for travel and work while others believe that there are more than two reasons mentioned above. In this essay, I would dig into the objectives of studying foreign languages. First of all, a lot of people study another language to travel or for work. As the world develops, so as the people around it. With the international companies sprouting everywhere, the demand for people who can speak a foreign language becomes a must, regardless of where they come from. China, for example, hires thousands of foreign teachers like me every year. Hence, there are more job opportunities for people who can speak foreign languages. Next, tourism is the world's largest industry. Knowing a foreign language makes travelling easier, cheaper and more convenient. On the other hand, those are not the only reasons for learning a foreign language. In my own opinion, the purpose would be to have a better memory and be more creative. Studying other languages opens a person's mind to other countries native language, culture and traditions. Also, language expresses feelings and emotions, creating bonds and relationships. To summarize, learning a language isn't only for travelling or working. It also breaks barriers and connects human beings to a deeper mutual understanding.